My Writing Process – Blog Tour

Comp book 1
I got tagged by Claudia Whitsitt to participate in this tour. Thanks Claudia!!! Be sure to check out her great website and books.

1)What am I working on?
Right now I’m working on a few projects, as usual. I’m wrapping up the submission period for Steampunk Trails, which means I’ll be starting edits on the stories I’ve accepted soon. I just finished the first round of edits on the reissue of Senior Year Bites and the first round of edits on Sabaska’s Quest. Story wise, I have a short Brown, Ghost-Hunting Dog story I need to write this week and I’m working on my Doc, Vampire-Hunting Dog novel.

2)How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My strong nonhuman, nontraditional lead characters, horses, dogs, cats, along with their humans.

3) Why do I write what I do?
I’m writing the kind of stories I wanted to read when I was a young adult (and now incidentally) but no one else has really written them yet. I also write what I do because I’m having a heck of a good time doing it.

4) How does your writing process work?
Usually I come up with some sort of idea, either from a random comment, something that could be a lot of fun, a conversation, a dream, and then, if the idea is strong enough, I play with it until I have a plot. Then I start writing. I like writing in order, so I don’t usually jump around. Sometimes I have to add more to my outline as I’m going, as was the case with Doc. I wasn’t sure all what happened in the middle, but another brainstorming session worked that out and I’m very happy with the results. Then I write, write, write until it’s done. Then I edit, edit, edit until I’m satisfied and then, beta readers. Then, hopefully, publication.

Up next week is Boom Baumgartner. Check her out.

This entry was posted in Blog Entry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Writing Process – Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

