World, meet Triska.

IMG_3670 I didn’t post about this here back in October because it was too painful. Many of you already know that my amazing mare, Sabaska, crossed the rainbow bridge last October, but some of you don’t, so I’ll tell you now. She was one of the most important aspects of my life and a constant companion for the last 9 years. Having her gone has been hellish. I was there when she passed, and I’m so grateful. During the last few months my Irish Sailor’s folks decided they were going to adopt a horse for me to help me recover from losing Sabaska and to give the horse a much needed home. They found Triska for me. She’s the 7 year old Arab mare in the picture. She’s a sweetheart. She’s not completely trained, but she is much further along than Sabaska was when I started working with her all those years ago and hopefully I know a little more now than I did then, so things should go a little more smoothly. I’m going to post updates, probably weekly, for a while, detailing our journey as we start our lives together. She’s got some big horseshoes to fill, but I think she’s up to the task.

No, she’s not very big, and no, I’m not as fat as those pictures make me look. LOL. Though we both have a little weight to lose. We’re going to start training for trail riding, and then endurance and see how it goes. I’ll do the same thing I did with Sabaska and try to teach her a little of everything. A well rounded horses is so nice to have. I’ll try and find cows for her to work, logs to jump, real jumps to jump, all sorts of things. We’ll go camping and everything. I’m looking forward to getting back in the saddle again.
IMG_3678

IMG_3672

IMG_3677

This entry was posted in Triska and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to World, meet Triska.

  1. Deborah Flynn says:

    Awesome, I’m so happy you have a new horse! I’ll be looking forward to all the updates and photos you post!

  2. Lizana says:

    Congrats! *Hugs* So happy that you’ll have Triska with you, now. It was very thoughtful of your Irish Sailor’s family to help. Yay for new friends! 🙂

  3. Rita Akers says:

    SO excited for you and for Triska! She’s a lucky horse

Leave a Reply

