Haunted Reading

I got a sneak peek at the cover for the Gunslingers and Ghost Stories anthology. It’s great. Simple but very spooky. My story, The Saloon of Doom, a Ghost-Hunting Dog story, will be in this anthology and it should be out around December 1st. Very exciting. I’ll share the cover art as soon as I can.

The weekend before Halloween several Colorado authors and I will be reading ghost stories. If you want a sneak peek at The Saloon of Doom, you should come. It’s Saturday, October 27th at the Broadway Book Mall 200 S. Broadway, Denver CO.

The lineup:

Steve Rasnic Tem, Alastair Mayer, David Boop, Laura Givens, David B. Riley, and yours truly.

Show up at 7pm for some great stories! It’s a free event. www.broadwaybookmall.com

I’ve done one public reading before, but nothing really like this. I’m going to practice reading of course, but do any of you have any advice? I’d love to hear it.

I also met the guy in charge of this place… Higherspeech.com and he says he has a lot of free advice so I’m going to check that out too.
Until next time enjoy a good book!

This entry was posted in Blog Entry, Doc's Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Haunted Reading

  1. HurogGirl says:

    I’d suggest bring a print out in extra large print, with marks at places you feel might cause stumbles when reading aloud. Even with something you wrote, you can barrel along & get the wrong emphasis or leap to assume a different word from what you actually used, so have those pre-marked on your sheets. Use lip balm (assuming you’re not already covered through having lipstick on) and water at hand.
    If you don’t have to be first reader, watch the first couple of rows in the audience, and make eye contact a few times with a couple of people there, then when you look up from your script, you can look at those people again & feel like you’re talking with acquaintances, if not friends.
    If you’re going to try to do voices for your characters, make notes on the print out about those too, to remind you what characteristics you’ve assigned to which people.
    If you’ve got made up names or other words, write those out how you intend to pronounce them, too.
    Don’t worry if you do have a flub or two, and don’t let it make you swear. Emulate your favorite actor or actress’ behavior when they have errors on outtake reels.
    Above all, enjoy it. Enjoy having that extra layer of possession to put onto the story for these particular consumers. I noticed particularly that while I enjoy *reading* Lois McMaster Bujold, hearing her read her own work, with the different emphasis she put on certain behaviors or responses by her characters really multiplied my understanding of them and future enjoyment of reading more of their adventures.

  2. Chrissey Harrison says:

    Hey Julie, I’m working on some audio versions of stories for my website. It’s amazing how much you pick up about the way you read/speak when you listen back to a recording. So that would be my advice; record your reading and listen back to it to see how you really sound to others. Hope it goes well!

  3. T. James says:

    I’ve never read any of my fiction work in public, and I’m not sure I’d want to – I can understand it being a little daunting. The advice from Chrissey is sound though. Best of luck with the book release and the reading – exciting times.

  4. Mardel says:

    I always read better around kids. If an extra adult shows up during library time it totally throws off my rhythym. When it’s just the teacher and a class of little ones, I can really get into the reading. so….I have no advice. pretend everyone is in their underwear? make sure you remember your pants?

    just try to be relaxed. 😉

  5. kathils says:

    Sounds very exciting! Have fun and remember to breathe. Oh, and what’s the age old advice about picturing everyone in their underwear? Yeah, um, that one — it doesn’t always work to your benefit. 😉

  6. Marianne Su says:

    This sounds like a fantastic opportunity. I’m sure you will do a great job. If I were you, I’d read the excerpt over and over aloud and I’d probably not make much eye contact. Most of all, remember to enjoy it. Don’t let it pass without taking it all in.

Leave a Reply

