Cover Reveal Doc, VHD The Moths of Miller Place

Coming soon to a light blub near you. Doc, Vampire-Hunting Dog and The Moth’s of Miller Place. A 5,800 word short story.

Kimberly Carmen is the cover artist 🙂
Excerpt:
The smelly lady stepped back out onto the porch. “Don’t turn your lights on after dark.” She lowered her voice. “It’s the migration.” With that she shut the door.
“Uh, the migration of what?”
Jake shook his head. “Crazy old bat.”
I whined. She’d sounded serious. The cat jumped up into the windowsill and groomed himself, his back turned. Stupid cat. I jumped off the porch and Kevin and Jake followed me to the car.
“Well, let’s find our cabin and then a river.” Kevin opened the door for me.
After a quick car ride we got out by another building that smelled of old pine trees. I ran around, sniffing, but I couldn’t smell any of the dead-things, rotting humans, or wolf-humans. I smelled deer, rabbits, and squirrels. I flattened my ears at the last smell. I hated squirrels more than I hated vampires.
It didn’t take long for Jake and Kevin to unload the car and then we set off on a trail that started at our cabin. I ran, sniffed, and generally enjoyed not being in the city while Kevin and Jake fished.
I chased squirrels whenever I could, but none of them seemed bothered, hurling insults from the trees where I couldn’t follow. I growled at one particularly foul squirrel who’d called me a puppy, when Kevin yelled for me.
“Time to head back, Doc.”
I hurled one last insult at the squirrel and chased after Kevin and Jake.
“You know, Kevin, I think I’ll run tonight. Would do Doc some good. Mind if I take him along?”
“After dark?”
“Relax Kevin, no one messes with a two hundred pound wolf.”
“Do you think he’ll be safe?” My human glanced at me. Sensing his attention, I met his eyes and dropped my jaw in a doggy grin.
“Safer than he is hunting vampires.”
“Sure. If he wants too.” Kevin didn’t sound convinced.
“Want to run tonight, Doc?”
I perked my ears forward. Of course I wanted to run.
“Good. That’s settled. Let’s get these fish cleaned. I know I saw a grill.”
We made it most of the way back to the cabin before a hint of someone new caught my attention. I stopped and stared at the house, sniffing. I heard Jake take a deep breath too. The scent was human so I took a few steps, waiting for Jake and Kevin.
“What’s up?” Kevin asked.
“Someone’s at the cabin. Smells human.” Jake handed his fish to Kevin and stalked forward.
I paced him and stopped when he did. There was a small vehicle out front that smelled of cleaners. A small, bent man, walked around the far corner of our small home carrying a handful of weeds. He stopped when he saw us and shook his head, as if annoyed.
“She told you, no lights after dark?” His gaze settled on me for a minute and his shoulders seemed to straighten as he smiled. “She don’t like dogs much. Surprised she let him stay.”
“Doc’s a good dog. I’m Jake.”
“Oh, sorry, manners. I’m Quincy. Grounds keeper, maintenance man, fixer of all things broken.” His voice was gruff, but friendly.
I wagged my tail once and trotted up to sniff his hand when he offered. He smelled of dirt and cleaners and plants, but nothing bad. He ruffled my ears then threw the weeds into the back of his small vehicle.
“The owner said no lights, but didn’t give much of a reason.”
Quincy looked around and lowered his voice. “It’s the migration. We don’t get too many outsiders here this time of year.”
“The migration of what?”
“The moths.”
I sat and tilted my head. I knew what a moth was. They were annoying, but this guy sounded and smelled afraid. Moths were nothing to be afraid of.
“Moths?”
“Yes. You scoff, but we’ve lost a few already this year. It’s a bad year for ‘em. Mark my words, we’ll lose more for the end. They go into the mountains in the summer, come back in the fall, ‘taint natural.”

This entry was posted in Blog Entry, Doc's Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cover Reveal Doc, VHD The Moths of Miller Place

  1. Clever, CLEVER title and great cover! Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

  2. Yay! I love it! I’ve shared it all over facebook and through twitter 😀

  3. Diane Girard says:

    uh oh, a plague of moths.
    The cover is fun.

  4. Mardel says:

    This is going to be great – deadly moths. haha – the grandchildren are afraid of moths….is there a reason? 🙂

  5. dannigrrl says:

    Congrats on another story coming out, Julie!

Leave a Reply

